CEO Announcement

Wednesday 03rd May, 2023

The Board of Directors of HEY Credit Union has appointed Matthew Stevens as their next Chief Executive, to succeed John Smith who has moved to a part-time Governance Officer role as he prepares for retirement.  

Matthew started his service with HEY Credit Union in 2007, originally in the Lending Department.  He was promoted to Project & Systems Manager and then became Chief Operating Officer early in 2022. 

Andy Stankard, HEY Credit Union’s President, says:
“As your President I am delighted to welcome Matthew Stevens as our new Chief Executive Officer. Matthew takes over from our founding CEO, John Smith, and he has been working closely alongside John as our Chief Operating Officer. Matthew has shown enormous aptitude for the role of CEO and everyone on the Board has been impressed with his development over the last year. His determination and energy and also his commitment to our core values match those of his predecessor and I am positive he will take our organisation forward in the way we want.

“I also want to thank John personally, and on behalf of the Board, for his years of dedicated service and his leadership through challenging times. He has built, defended and preserved the ethos of our organisation and made it what it is today.”

On taking up the appointment, Matthew commented: 
“Carrying on from the great work that has been done over the last 24 years and using the experience I have gained I am ambitious about taking HEY Credit Union into the future as one of the leading credit unions in this country. I am looking forward to delivering exceptional service to our members with the support of the directors and our dedicated team of staff and volunteers.”


Share This Story

Next Post: Members' Newsletter
© Hull & East Yorkshire Credit Union | Registered under the Credit Union Act 1979 and the Co-operative and Community Benefit Societies Act 2014. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority. Our FRN is 213620.